Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)
Print    Email
Bookmark and Share

Health Information

Health Information

Health Information

Glaucoma Awareness Month

Glaucoma is the name for a group of eye diseases that damage the optic nerve . The optic nerve, which carries information from the eye to the brain, is in the back of the eye. When the nerve is damaged, you can lose your vision.

There are three types of glaucoma.

  • Open-angle glaucoma - This form of glaucoma is the most common form in the United States. In this type of glaucoma, the optic nerve is damaged bit by bit. This slowly leads to loss of eyesight.
  • Closed-angle glaucoma - This form of glaucoma is less common. In this type of glaucoma, the colored part of the eye (iris) and the lens block movement of fluid between the chambers of your eye.
  • Congenital glaucoma - This is a rare form of glaucoma that some infants have at birth.

January 2010
HealthDay and Healthwise


Feature Stories

Stopping the 'sneak thief of sight'

Living and working with glaucoma, for 17 years and counting

Types of glaucoma

Related Information

What causes Glaucoma?.

Symptoms of Glaucoma

Treatment of Glaucoma

Related Resources

Prevent Blindness America .

Glaucoma Research Foundation

American Optometric Association




© 2016 St. Mary's Health System   |  3700 Washington Avenue  |  Evansville, IN 47750  |  (812) 485-4000