Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)
Print    Email
Bookmark and Share

Nursing Clinical Ladder (NCL)

Nursing Clinical Ladder (NCL)

Nursing Clinical Ladder (NCL)

The Nursing Clinical Ladder Program provides a formal process that promotes the professional development of Registered Nurses through demonstrated provision of high quality, evidence based nursing care and advancement of practice.

This program is designed to recognize the clinical nurse with advanced knowledge and skill who demonstrates excellence in evidence based nursing practice.  St. Mary's endeavors to provide an environment that allows nurses to excel personally and professionally.  Through dedication and accountability, nurses will strive to improve, innovate, and make a difference.

Goals of the Nursing Clinical Ladder Program:

  • Recognize excellence in nursing practice
  • Promote a professional practice environment
  • Foster recruitment and retention of RNs
  • Deliver quality patient/family care with measurable outcome criteria

Nursing Clinical Ladder Levels

In this four level program, all new registered nurses begin at Level I and advance as they meet criteria designed for each specific level. Nurses move to the next level through achievements in leadership, education, research, and clinical areas.  As well as being recognized for these achievements, monetary compensation is also rewarded. 

© 2015 St. Mary's Health System   |  3700 Washington Avenue  |  Evansville, IN 47750  |  (812) 485-4000